Tracy: A warrior for her cause or a self-serving bitch?

Today I was reading a thread on a blog I have read before.

http://mlmblog.typepad.com/blog/2006/11/the_pink_truth_.html

You can read about his experience with Tracy, but I just had to point something out.  Ty says, “If the owner of the web site is the same person that answers the email at pinktruth@gmail.com, she also called me a whore when I offered to help promote the site through the MLM Blog Network.”  So this man offered to link Pink Truth on his series of sites. 

Tracy replied, “Ty – I think you ought be very careful in your distortion of the facts. You didn’t “offer to help promote” my site, you really offered to get some Google ad revenue for yourself. I don’t wish to be associated with people who promote MLM’s, plain and simple.”  Considering how Tracy feels about MLM’s, I’m not surprised by her response.

What’s surprising is that apparently making money for herself is more important than her war against MLM’s and Mary Kay.  Here’s a screen shot of what I see on the discussion board.  How many Google ad’s for sites encouraging MLM’s can you find?

mlm.jpg

27 Comments »

  1. I, for one, have always found it ironic that she hasn’t banned Google AdSense for promoting MLMs…

    douche

  2. MK Rules said

    LOL! Way to “not promote MLMs”. I guess money talks huh?

  3. Trying to break free said

    The more I read about this woman, the more utterly disgusted I am. I noticed those MLM adverts before on the board and sort of wondered about that.

    As long as she earns money for her own wallet, it’s fine. As soon as it doesn’t earn her money or attention or praise, she’s all over you like a fly on shit, calling you every name in the book.

    This woman needs some pharmaceutical therapy and fast.

  4. Robin Loves Batman said

    Break out the meds!

    bitches

  5. New To Pink said

    i think she needs more than meds….maybe surgical removal of the corn cob in her arse!

  6. She Who Must Not Be Named said

    I think there is more than a corn cob stuck up there… if she goes up far enough she might find Sickie hanging out, taking notes.

  7. I LOVE CATS said

    OMG, yes Sickie will be up there too. And she’ll be covered with Tracy’s shit.

  8. I LOVE CATS said

    Ok, random comment– I think Melissa sucks for leaving town with her blog on lock down. We coulda done some serious damage over there. Can you imagine what fun we might have had unencumbered by “moderation”? How dare her lock us out just cuz she wants to go sell some friggin lipstick somewhere and count it as a tax writeoff! THE NERVE.

    Oh, and you’re all dirty rotten little sluts.

  9. Robin Loves Batman said

    Yeah she sure has some nerve. I guess that means maybe she’s worried that some of us skanks might run amok over there?

    bitches and hos yo

  10. Robin Loves Batman said

    BTW she must be bored or too busy cramming new nastiness up her ass because no new posts have gone up since yesterday.

    bitches.

  11. Robin Loves Batman said

    “She” meaning Tracy, not Melissa. Just so I’m clear. I didn’t want to confuse Bologna or ScewU since it’s so easy to do!!!

    hos

  12. I LOVE CATS said

    I used to think Melissa was such a ho cuz Tracy told me so. But now I think she’s just a very disillusioned sweet little MK beauty consultant who seriously buys the company bullshit. Well, she’s not “sweet”, but she’s not a ho. There’s even almost something cute about her in a way– in a weird sort of cute way. Kind of like she’s too pitiful to fix herself. *waving to my bud Melissa* (sorry, you know I love you)

    Dirty rotten little sluts.

  13. Robin Loves Batman said

    I have to agree I Love Cats. She is nowhere near sweet. All you have to do is read her blog to figure that out. Neither is Rebecca. But ME hates Tracy as much as Tracy hates anyone who won’t bend over and take it with no lube. But at least ME is starting to let some posts go through that don’t necessarily agree with her. She didn’t used to. Maybe she’s softening up a bit.

    bitches and ho’s

  14. You Ain'T No DaIsY said

    “dirty rotten sluts”

    Did someone call my name?
    LOL

  15. StopTheBitterness said

    In regard to the google ads, I suspect that Tracy just hasn’t taken the time to weed out the bad MLM’s she doesn’t want to promote. In case some of you are not aware, Google selects based on keywords what ads are placed there, not Tracy. She’s most likely aware that she can screen out certain keywords or companies even and chances are she simply hasn’t gotten around to it. I personally have a few blogs with google ads on them and just honestly haven’t had or taken the time to tweak it. I’m giving Tracy the benefit of the doubt on this topic.

  16. Duh said

    StoptheBitterness,
    She called the man on the other blog a “whore” just for asking if she wanted to link to his site. Out of the blue, she just started calling this guy names? How is that OK?

    You don’t have to explain to me how google ads work. Why does she need google ads at all? To make money, right? If she is running her board to supplement her income, don’t you think she should take the time to screen out those keywords. She certainly takes the time to screen IP addresses, screen names, and e-mail addresses.

    If you were running a blog that was supposed to be a support group for drug addicts, would you allow google ads for online drug companies where drugs could be easily obtained?

  17. 'Sup said

    Ok, Tracy has NOTHING but time for screening. Ask those of us whose IP’s are banned. She has plenty of time to take care of the google ads. But then cash-flow might be an issue since she doesn’t seem to be investigating anything other than MK NSD’s and user-names and IP’s on her blog.

    Heck, I think she may be having BIG $$ problems right now anyway given how she’s giving that poor carpenter such a publicly hard time. Girlfriend needs her monsies back so she can pay her light bill!

  18. StopTheBitterness said

    Well, this whole thing has simply gotten way out of control. I for one just wish I could get past reading all of the negativity all over these blogs. It really is beginning to affect my life and the time I waste on the computer, bottom spreading wider and wider with each day!! UGH!! It’s friggin’ addicting and such a waste of all of our time and energy.

    The bottom line is and I believe most of you will all agree is that Mary Kay Sucks!!

    And after all is said and done, what difference will any or all of this make to any of us when we are on our death beds or finally cross over!! Not a bit of difference!! Who cares if someone makes some money from a cause, if they’re willing to put in the time and effort to provide a place for people to gather, I believe they should be compensated for their time, especially if the compensation simply comes from google ads. I for one don’t expect anyone to purchase anything from me and yes, my readership is extremely low, so therefore any compensation I receive, takes about 6 months to earn 100.00 and that’s just because they view my blog, not because they purchase something. When someone places an ad for something which they may receive a small (2pct-5pct) commission on and others choose to buy into it, my guess would be that the purchaser only purchases something because they felt it was a good buy, even though it may have been in impulse buy. It sort of goes back to the “no one held a gun to your head theory”. Sometimes people are simply drawn to something which interests them and if they’re willing to buy it, then why shouldn’t a sales person make a commission from that. The money is not coming out of pockets directly. It’s not like we’re paying a service fee. The bottom line is, we all make choices. I wish I could stick to my guns and choose to let all of this go, but I’m having a hell of a time with that. It’s not healthy at all.

    We could get into a he said, she said sort of thing, but I really do need to go and do things around my house and life. Why is it that we all enjoy watching a train wreck? How sick does that make all of us. I know that I was glued to the Anna Nicole saga and what a waste of time!! I had NO control over that, but sure was glad that cutey Larry Birkhead was awarded custody. lol

    I was watching Oprah the other day in a show about forgiveness of those who have done us wrong and Dr. Robin (a regular on her show) spoke about the topic in that it really resonated with what has been going on amongst all of the pro and anti MK’ers over the last few years that I have been reading. Like I said…What a waste of time!! There is just SOOOO much hate!! I’m just rambling at this point because I for one, would like to get off this train but I haven’t been quite able to do it. I always find myself drawn back. The reason I believe that the number of comments have diminshed on PT is because, how many different ways can one describe an MLM. A cult is what it is and for those of us who have been around for any length of time just want to let it go and quite honestly, I believe many of us are very bitter and are curious to see if the train really wrecks. And I mean the Mary Kay Corporation train, not necessarily the PT train. Sadly (IMO) the anti-MK movement has simply ruffled a few feathers, made the pro-MK’er’s puff up their bubble just a little bit more. Some day they may see the light, maybe they won’t, but that’s their life. Again, I have no control over it, only my own. I believe there will always be anti-MK sites, because I believe that because we do have access to the internet and that women do tend to seek out others for support, there will always be the hurt, lies and deception which we have felt because of this so called corporate company. Women who are missing something will seek out other women who may be feeling the same way. Google is a wonderful thing and as I said, I believe there will always be anti-MK sites as well as pro. It’s always comforting to have your feelings validated to know you’re not alone in your thoughts and it’s “not just me”.

    Ladies, I tend to be a pacifist (sp?) But, the bottom line, I’m no longer a Kaybot……and never really was at heart. Initially, I felt a connection, but after having received my first huge shipment of “all this make-up”, I was still eager to sell, but soon became disenchanted with the thought that I might actually have to be away from my son (single mom) and hell, I already had a full time job which paid well, etc etc. I didn’t like the idea that I was becoming someone who was not my authentic self. After having participated in Mary Kay, I do have a different appreciation for wanting to make an effort to “do up my face” when I go out, but I so want to get away from the corpse look which was being created. One thing I did learn is to how to spot an MLM right away and to avoid it like the plague!! We learn something new every day in this life and that is definitely one lesson I’ve learned. Is there a way to restrict myself, other than self control -LOL- from coming to these sites? What I’d like to do is simply learn from this and move on. Is it possible or are all of us so addicted that we feel as though if we’re not posting, then we really aren’t participating and that we’re making progress? Fooling ourselves? Maybe. Pro-Mk’er’s are always going on and on about how all the stories are the same and all I can say is “DUH”!! This company is scripted!!” Of course all of the stories are going to be the same!! It’s the ole hamster wheel and same “goals”, bla bla bla.

    I have remained on an even keel with Tracy over the past few years. The bottom line, whether she profits from her involvement or not, she’s still a human being. I choose not to berate her because she is still who she is and who the heck is anyone here to judge. She’s a still a human being. None of us are!! Sure, some of you might not feel that way, but like everything else in life, that’s your opinion. I prefer to try and find the good in everyone. How many of us are really “bitches” in our every day life and as Dr. Phil would say “how is that workin’ for ya?” I don’t see myself as a “bitch”, playing around, I’ll call myself that, but I’m truly not. I prefer to bring my stress level back down to a minimum, but how the hell do you get away from the hatred which keeps tearing all of us apart. What I believe needs to be done is for someone to create an actual community where healing can take place, but short of “controlling” everyone, keeping flaming down or to allow people to speak from their hearts and minds, there’s no way to create “the perfect picnic spot” (I loved that children’s book). So many people feel as though they have been used and abused by this so called company. We almost need a 12 step program used in programs like “Alcoholics Anonymous” for people who have been impacted by MLM’s.

    When I made the comment earlier about how google ads work, I was simply throwing that out there in case others weren’t aware of how it all works. I certainly wasn’t directing the information to any one person in particular. I do believe you have a readership here? Yes? 🙂

    In closing, I must say, I am my own person and as I said earlier, I do prefer to find the good in everyone, Tracy included. Sometimes, I think she’s not sure who she can trust, myself included, and I understand that. Heck, if I were in her position, I probably wouldn’t trust many people either, but that’s why she does what she does and I do what I do. 🙂 I was raised in a family that always believed “if you don’t have anything good to say about someone, then just keep your mouth shut”.

    I wish each and every one of you peace. And for God sake’s try to stop the hatred!! And if Tracy is guilty of that, I wish her peace as well. Stress is not good for any of us and as I said, there will always be anti-MK’ers, with or without Tracy. Tracy seems to be a very strong willed person and definitely a different personality than mine. She is not afraid to speak her mind and I suspect that that is why the rest of you on this board tend to butt heads with her, because the rest of you are rather strong willed too. But that’s life and that’s OK. Healthy? Probably not.

    As I like to say, It’s all good 🙂 and onward and upward. I think it’s time to lighten up and just let her do her thing and get back to being there for others who are searching for the support. If all of us have “healed” and gotten our blue checks, why do we keep coming back? Trust me, if I could figure out a way to just let all of this go, I would!!

    Duh, I think I answered your questions in a round-a-bout way. We all deal with life differently. I had read that Ty thing quite some time ago and I just took it for what it was worth. What difference does it make? I understand what you’re saying about the drug addicts comment and no, I would have screened those out alot sooner too. But if you really want to split hairs here, LJ also has Mary Kay google ads on pinklighthouse.com too. OH and one more thing, everyone is always saying how TC stole ideas from LJ. There might be a bit of competiveness there or copycat going on, but really, how many other websites out there all are run the exact same way. Forums, google ads, etc etc. TC could have gotten the concepts from almost any forum on the web. LJ is makin’ money too so as far as the makin’ money thing goes, I say if they’re willing to put their time and energy into this ‘movement’ then why not!! I think they should be compensated.

    OK, going outside to clean up that yard!! Poor thing is gettin’ out of hand lol Have a lovely day ladies.

  19. Duh said

    I wish I had the attention span to read your entire comment. But your arguments seem to be (in a nutshell):
    1. If Tracy wants to make money off her site there’s nothing wrong with that.

    I agree with this. She can do whatever she wants on her site, but I have the right to point out her obvious hypocrisy. She says to Ty “I don’t wish to be associated with people who promote MLM’s, plain and simple.” Apparently when it comes to ad revenue, she doesn’t mind associating with them. No matter how little she’s making, it seems like a conflict of interest to make money off of companies that promote MLM’s when you’re entire life revolves around discrediting MLM’s.

    2. Pink Lighthouse has google ads about MLM’s.

    I haven’t seen any evidence of the owner of PL cursing out someone for asking to link to an MLM site either. I have no idea where PL stands on the whole MLM issue. If I come across a hypocritical statement that PL has made, I’ll be sure to tell you about it!

    3. We should all (yourself included) get a life.

    I enjoy writing. I enjoy making people laugh. Tracy put herself out there as a public figure. Therefore, I have the right to say whatever I want as long as I’m not lying. Writing and making people laugh have always been a part of my life. Just because I’m dwelling on this particular subject matter won’t change that fact. You mentioned your inability to stop reading and getting involved with these blogs even though you want to. That’s a problem. If you want to stop and can’t that’s called an addiction. Maybe you should start a Blogger’s Anonymous board. My life is full, and my blog doesn’t keep me from doing all the fun things I want to do. I’m sorry if you can’t leave your house because you are too busy refreshing.

    4. This issue is something that in the grand scheme of things we shouldn’t care about.

    I agree. But in the grand scheme of things, NOTHING will really matter will it? Why should I do laundry? When I’m on my deathbed will it matter if my laundry piled up this week? No, but I should probably still do it, right?

    Now, I am going back to finish Week In Review. Stop interrupting me!!

  20. 'Sup said

    “She’s a still a human being. None of us are!!” HUH??!??

    Dang, sister had a lot to say!

  21. Duh said

    I am a human being. Homo Sapien, all the way baby!!!

  22. Zoe said

    LMAO @ “I’m sorry if you can’t leave your house cause you’re too busy refreshing” hahahahahahaha

  23. LongWindedBitch said

    STB says ~ The bottom line is and I believe most of you will all agree is that Mary Kay Sucks!!

    I don’t believe the MK sucks, but I do believe quite a lot of women have had “sucky experiences” with MK.

    STB says ~ Who cares if someone makes some money from a cause, if they’re willing to put in the time and effort to provide a place for people to gather, I believe they should be compensated for their time, especially if the compensation simply comes from google ads.

    If the goal was to be a true non-profit, then maybe the appropriate thing to do would be to seek grants/funding for the cause from a concerned 3rd party like the government or a private foundation. This lends credibility and legitimacy to your cause and prevents people from making adverse implications against a self-proclaimed leader who profits primarily from those she claims were financially victimized by others.

    STB says ~ Sometimes people are simply drawn to something which interests them and if they’re willing to buy it, then why shouldn’t a sales person make a commission from that. The money is not coming out of pockets directly.

    I’ve never seen TC claim or admit to being a sales-person with the anti-MK crowd as her target market. Now clearly, this is actually what is happening, but she doesn’t acknoweledge it as such. What’s happening is that people are viewing the targeted and hardly subtle “sales pitches” towards her readership as a profiteering campaign that helps one person, and not tangibly or visibly any “cause” or group of people. And if people are buying things JUST to support the “cause” that they may not have otherwise bought, then money is (in)directly coming out of their pockets (direct or indirect is inconsequential if at the end of the transaction the buyer is less money and the marketeer is up money).

    STB ~ The bottom line is, we all make choices.

    Very true. But this doesn’t seem to be the overwhelming foundational philosophy when listening to the complaints of the anti-MK set. In fact, personal choice is seemingly overridden by complaints of pushy, charismatic, crafty/evil/greedy recruiters/Directors/NSDs who would by-any-means-necessary encourage consultants in the way of “buying lots of lots of what they were drawn to and interested in.” Why then, indeed, shouldn’t these women (MK recruiters, Directors, and NSDs) make a commission from that? Folks quickly lose credibility (and support) when they engage in the same tactics as those they decry.

    STB asks ~ What I’d like to do is simply learn from this and move on. Is it possible or are all of us so addicted that we feel as though if we’re not posting, then we really aren’t participating and that we’re making progress?

    It’s a shame that your time on PT has left you asking this question. I have always believed that if ANY anti-MK site is to be a true place of healing, then membership would be a steady flow of newbies in and healed vets out. But it does not serve the current leadership’s seemingly personal goals and individual agenda to have ANYONE truly healed and OFF the internet blog-train. If you are not visiting the site, you can’t click her sponsored ads and increase her income. It does not serve her to have you move on. She needs you to visit every day, multiple times, and give in to your impulse to buy. Kind of like going to your MK meeting every week and meeting consistency challenges to order every month. Fascinating dichotomy.

    STB says ~ I have remained on an even keel with Tracy over the past few years.

    Lucky you.

    STB says ~ The bottom line, whether she profits from her involvement or not, she’s still a human being.

    And if TC herself remembered this about the women (ALL of them) who visited her site and wished to participate, she would not have the issues and drama she is currently experiencing. It is her apparent sheer inability to deal nicely, kindly, and with human decency and respect towards others (including surprisingly those who have supported her the most, financially and otherwise) that brings her to this point. For someone who herself claims to have had no devastating financial loss in MK nor who had the stress of trying to maintain Directorship or a car, to then turn around and publically shame, humiliate, and harass women in an organization that she herself admits never hurt her personally, makes her seem LESS than human, even to those who would otherwise love to support her in her efforts (to include MANY current MKrs who believe change and transformation needs to occur in MK). And to boot, she now shuns and bans those who previously supported her. Beings that eat their young are often labelled as animals or creatures, not human.

    STB says ~ What I believe needs to be done is for someone to create an actual community where healing can take place, but short of “controlling” everyone, keeping flaming down or to allow people to speak from their hearts and minds, there’s no way to create “the perfect picnic spot” (I loved that children’s book).

    A place like this can absolutely exist, as long as the leadership does it for the pure and unadultered mission of creating a community of healing. Not to publically decry a corporation nor daily shame its agents/representatives. Not to provide a passive source of income for the leaders. Not to keep anyone out of the community except those who pose true threats to the healing process. Despite what the die-hards think, you need caring, compassionate and understanding “kaybots” in the anti-MK movement. They are the only ones who can take back a message of change that stands a snowball’s chance in hell of being heeded, AND provide the much needed affirmation that someone still in understands and appreciates the struggle/frustration of those now out, and who will make the personal commitment to never do to others what has occurred to them.

    STB says ~ In closing, I must say, I am my own person and as I said earlier, I do prefer to find the good in everyone, Tracy included. Sometimes, I think she’s not sure who she can trust, myself included, and I understand that. Heck, if I were in her position, I probably wouldn’t trust many people either, but that’s why she does what she does and I do what I do.

    The problem with this is that TC PUT herself in this position. She wasn’t elected or selected. And worse, she stepped on the necks of others and co-opted many of their ideas and plans just so she COULD ride the wave to become the self-proclaimed NSD of the anti-MK community. She has placed this burden on her own shoulders, and if it’s too much for her to bear, she can just as easily remove herself.

    STB ~ Stress is not good for any of us and as I said, there will always be anti-MK’ers, with or without Tracy.

    I’m not sure TC knows and/or accepts this. If she did, this blog and others like it would not exist. Nero was another who had a hard time understanding/accepting that he would not be the last and final Emperor of Rome, and most of us know what happened to him. His personal advisor told him, “You can kill everyone BUT your successor.” That bit of wisdom did nothing to humble Nero or change his tragic blood-thirsty life-course. Denial of one’s own figurative or literal mortality buys you nothing but heart-ache and a life of emptiness.

    STB says ~ I think it’s time to lighten up and just let her do her thing and get back to being there for others who are searching for the support.

    If “doing her thing” wasn’t so hurtful to others, this might be easy to do. Her apparent paranoia and strong-arm-cyber-bullying tactics make it impossible for those who truly need help/support to find it in her or her site.

  24. Duh said

    STB reminds me of Mrs. Metaphor.

  25. PTSucks said

    I hate when people make such long posts. I do not have the attention span to read that much shit at one sitting.

  26. Robin Loves Batman said

    Good Lord yall. This is nutty. This blog is supposed to be light and funny. WTF happend? All you people coming here to disput stuff, go away. Really. You’re making it not funny. I need my funny. Bring back funny DUH.

    bitches!!

  27. My Bologna Has A First Name said

    That was a lot of words!! I can’t hang with all that.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

