Nasty Feet and Cheap

sick-feet.jpg

Written By: ScrewU

This post made me wonder…. just how nasty do your feet have to be to get a pedicure every 2 weeks?  And if someone is messing with your nasty feet, at least tip them right

TRACY

PINK TRUTH
Trade Count: (0)
THE QUEEN
*****

Karma: 228
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: I am a geek!!

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

How much to tip for a pedicure?

« on: Apr 12, 04:38 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I had been getting pedicures for a few years from my friend, until she closed her shop. We had a standard price and it was easy.

Today I went to a new place and really liked it. But I just didn’t know how much to tip!!! What do you think? The pedi was $45… it was full-service w/ scrub, shaping, massage, and polish. But not one of the fancier ones with all the hot towels and special stuff slathered all over.

What would you have given? I’ll be going every 2 weeks…

Report to moderator   Logged

detective The PINK TRUTH will set you free.

usedtobepinkfreshmeat

Trade Count: (0)
Viscountess
**

Karma: 40
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 485

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #1 on: Apr 12, 04:55 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

$10 if I really, really liked it.  I usually round up the 20% if it’s not at a whole dollar amount when I had the most exceptional service.  But you said it wasn’t one of the fancier pedicures, so I guess $9 would have been fine.

Report to moderator   Logged

Arr, Mateys. Ahoy! Th’ pink ship be sinkin’!

Personal Use Recruiter

Guest
Trade Count: (0)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #2 on: Apr 12, 04:56 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Every TWO WEEKS???  Are you serious?  That is some serious pampering.   Thumbs Up

I tip 20%.  *shrug*

Report to moderator   Logged

2%Refugee

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 75
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 310

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #3 on: Apr 12, 05:24 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I have pedi done once per month, and generally provide a $10 tip…my tech is someone I have done business with for years, and actually is a former IBC in my unit…I also have acrylics, so I am seeing her every two weeks for that. She does a tremendous job, and since the “basic” pedi is only $40 the tip is well worth it. Occasionally I will have the “deluxe” version done elsewhere, and I usually do 20% for that.

I also do 20% for my hair stylist or for the occasional spa treatment; in these parts I believe it is fairly standard. I do know that your location has a great deal to do with what is generally “expected”.

Report to moderator   Logged

Twizzler

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 15
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #4 on: Apr 13, 04:31 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I have looked up multiple sites in tipping etiquette and everywhere pretty much lists a standard 15-20% for all different services.  I typically go with 20% (for one thing, it is easy to calculate!)   Roll Eyes

Report to moderator   Logged

TRACY

PINK TRUTH
Trade Count: (0)
THE QUEEN
*****

Karma: 228
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: I am a geek!!

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #5 on: Apr 13, 04:54 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

*sigh*

The more you pay for a service… the more you’re expected to tip. I didn’t realize everyone was up to 20% now. Does it ever seem to anyone else like tips are now required versus optional?

Oh well. I guess I know how much now!  Moon

Report to moderator   Logged

detective The PINK TRUTH will set you free.

Twizzler

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 15
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 136

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #6 on: Apr 13, 06:09 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Yes, PT, definately seems tips are required more than optional!  I hate that when you go in for a massage or some service, you are already paying enough for that service….then to add on a tip!  That’s why I never go for that stuff!  HeeHee.  The only thing I do often is get my hair done and I always tip my stylist well because she does a great job and we have become good friends.   Thumbs Up

Report to moderator   Logged

DebiUnpinked

MAVEN
Trade Count: (1)
Countess
***

Karma: 139
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,146

Laugh hard, laugh loud and laugh long!

View Profile WWW Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #7 on: Apr 17, 03:05 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Here’s my take… if you go every two weeks then I think $5 is plenty. 

If once a month then a $10 tip would be okay. 

And by the way, am I the only person in life anymore that tips on the quality of service???  I NEVER automatically give 20%.  20% is if I’m in a large party or the service is top notch! 

My brother was a waiter for over 12 years.  He said that he treated everyone the same unless they were  Moon and then he knew he wasn’t going to get a good tip and of course his service to them declined.   NOW, much different if the customer was a regular that tipped a lot or a little!  He treated them accordingly (which being him.. he is so nice… was probably pretty good).

Report to moderator   Logged

Freedom of choice…we make it by doing something or doing nothing…it is YOUR choice!

gothchiq

Trade Count: (0)
Countess
***

Karma: 115
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #8 on: Apr 17, 04:05 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Man. I wish I had $ for pedicures. My poor feet are so not sandalworthy. Heck…I cut my own hair too, with a little help from Mr. Gothboy evening out the ends. Seems like these services are so costly, and then tips on top of that. Nope, gotta pay the electric bill instead.  Sad

Report to moderator   Logged

Happy2BeMe

Trade Count: (70)
Marchioness
***

Karma: 427
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 3,900

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #9 on: Apr 17, 06:21 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I talked with my girlfriend who owns a salon…..

She gets 20% (BUT she is in a small town and pedi’s are $25 for the FULL treatment, so that is only $5).

BUT if they came every 2 weeks….she would expect LESS than 20% since it is so often.

In my area they are $38-45…..OUCH!

Report to moderator   Logged

duped_by_star

Trade Count: (1)
Baroness
**

Karma: 30
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 190

lnjs12
View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #10 on: Apr 17, 06:48 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Well, I go to one of the town’s fancier spa’s twice per year for a full go over.  The standard tipping scale for them is 20%.  I think that would be your safest bet until you get to know the girl doing it more.  *shrug*

Pedicures are soooooo nice…and this is the perfect time to treat your tootsies girls!  It’s sandal season soon!  Yikes…   Pepper   Martini   Jump

Duped

Report to moderator   Logged

Still smoke free and lovin’ it!  Smiley

“A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.”

marvelous light

MAVEN
Trade Count: (2)
Countess
***

Karma: 163
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 779

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #11 on: Apr 17, 07:42 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: DebiUnpinked on Apr 17, 03:05 AM

And by the way, am I the only person in life anymore that tips on the quality of service???  I NEVER automatically give 20%.  20% is if I’m in a large party or the service is top notch! 

nope, Debi, you are not alone!  a 20% tip is reserved for exceptional service … so, PT, my two cents worth, if you’re going every 2 weeks 10% tip is groovy!  Cool Thumbs Up

Report to moderator   Logged

You can’t fix stupid!

Mother

MAVEN
Trade Count: (3)
Countess
***

Karma: 78
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,028

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: How much to tip for a pedicure?

« Reply #12 on: Apr 17, 07:53 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I do 15% most of the time. If I have some extra cash I give 20% to my hairstylist which I adore because she does exactly what I tell her to do with my hair (you’d be surprised at how hard that is to find).

Report to moderator   Logged

Pink Truth Ladies Rock

34 Comments »

  1. Dizzy from the Dastardly ways of Tracy said

    Wowzers, I can’t believe someone actually suggested a $5 tip???? Ouch. Ok, I live in a service industry town where most workers rely on tips. The base wages for a lot of these folks is LESS than minimum wage. Granted, some peeps make BANK in these positions, but that’s because of the tips. The standard for most people in this town is minimum 15% and at least 20% if the service is excellent.

    I’ll tell you one way for Tracy to know if her tip is appropriate is if the person who does her pedicures either stops giving her good treatment or she suddenly becomes “booked” all the time, she’ll know her tip is not good. People will generally work harder for you if you show them some love. My opinion is if you have the funds to get a pedicure every 2 weeks, you need to dig a little deeper and give a good tip.

    Another thing to consider, tipping gets you better service, faster service and a guarantee there will be no secret ingredients in your food or drinks if you know what I mean??

    And for God’s sake people, don’t piss off your server! Have any of you seen that movie “Waiting”? If not, rent it. I kid you not, you will never be rude to a server again!!!

  2. Pedicures….aahhh, love ’em! Every 2 weeks is rather excessive and expensive. My feet would have to be really fugly for me to spend that kind of money on them so often. A good pedi around me is at least $45 plus tip $7-10 depending on service. I get pedicures because I like to pamper myself and have my nails done, but it’s once every 4-6 weeks. In between, I will just get polish changes and take good care of my tootsies. 🙂

  3. Dizzy, “Waiting” was both funny and scary! I shudder to think of tipping poorly.

    I tend to overtip and go back if service (and food) was exceptional. Your wait staff will remember you if you make a point to sit in their certain section. And when you can’t, they do talk to each other and share that you are worth treating well.

    (PS to above: when I said $7, it’s usually because she nicked my poor little toes more than once!)

  4. NowIGetIt said

    As big as she is – she has to pamper those feet. Ok that was WAY mean and catty…

  5. MKRealist said

    I get Olive Oil Pedicures at the Red Door Salon. They are $77 and I tip 20%. I try to go once a month. It’s a luxury I treat myself to.

  6. Duh said

    I like to do my own toes! I probably splurge for a real pedi once a year. You’ll never guess what I use…

    Mary Kay Satin Hands!!

    What comes with the Olive Oil Pedis, MKRealist? I usually soak my tootsies in warm water and olive oil before I start scrubbing. I didn’t know it was worth $77!

  7. Dizzy from the Dastardly ways of Tracy said

    NowIGetIt…..that was harsh lol.

    I am too cheap to pay someone to do my feet. I’m with DUH on this one, Satin Hands works GREAT on feet.

    I do my own pedis and I lotion my feetsies up every night with Bath&Body Works body butter. Not only does it keep them soft, but they smell good too.

    BITCHES!

  8. Dana said

    I use Satin Hands on my feet too, Duh!

    I don’t get pedicures. I don’t like people touching my feet. I just do my own.

    I think it’s funny that “The Queen” asked a question, so one of her PTBots felt the need to call a friend in another town to determine the answer! 🙂

  9. MKRealist said

    Olive Oil Pedicure (50 minutes) ~ During this sumptuous experience we exfoliate and hydrate with an olive oil salt scrub before massaging your lower legs and feet with a unique olive oil cream. A satin spray, hydrating mask and revitalizing gel leave you with soft, silky skin.

    It really is an amazing experience and I’m totally hooked. I can never get a “regular pedi” again! I even bought the scrub, spray, and gel to use at home between visits.

    I believe I’m worth it! *wink*

  10. Dizzy from the Dastardly ways of Tracy said

    LOL MKRealist. I believe you’re worth it too! 😉

  11. I have heard numerous references to using Satin Hands on your feet. Wonder how MK would feel if us IBC’s promoted it that way as well?? It is really good for dry cracked heels.

  12. Me said

    I do it all the time, Semi.

  13. Dana said

    Semi, I actually first tried it after a big-time director (now an NSD) told me that she does it. Except she uses hydrating lotion instead of hand cream. I generally use Energizing as the final step.

  14. Dizzy from the Dastardly ways of Tracy said

    We’re (some of us) apparently closet MK users. Hmmm…..

    BITCHES!

  15. My Bologna Has A First Name said

    Has anyone here ever tried the pedicure set from MK? I know it seems wierd and all… but just a thought

  16. I enjoy getting pedicures, and I enjoy doing them myself. But $40-$45? That’s some damn pedicure! In my area, which is in So. Cal. (the real OC), you can get a spa pedicure for $16. Sit in a nice big chair with heat, massage, cushoins, etc. Parrafin is about another $3-$5.

    Now, I realize that this isn’t the splurgey pampering pedi. But if you are going every 2 weeks, you don’t NEED that big pedi each time.

    Unless your feet are fugly.

  17. Princessedamame ~ I am jealous of the prices! I would have thought inyour area, it would have been more expensive. BTW, I love So. Cali., but haven’t been since 2001. 😦 My $45 covers all that you mentioned, including the parrafin, but that’s why it’s more a treat for me and usually closer to the 6 weeks for me rather than 4. I just love the pampering, guess I am a little bit spoiled.

    Dizzy ~ “closet MK users” ~ too funny. Deep down, I wonder how many at PT really DO like some of the MK products, but just bash them all because it’s the thing to do over there?!?

  18. snapyafingers said

    I use Satin Hands on my feet too. Why not do both at the same time? Love it!

  19. Rebecca said

    I, too, promote the use of Satin Hands for the feet. (And the hands!)

  20. Black Sheep said

    The Satin hands pampering pack does do a nice pedi, especially if you can get dh to help, can lead to fun for the remainder of the evening too!!

    Market it for both hands and feet and add energizing foot and leg treatment for feet!

    PCP gift for future is going to be the cutest mini satin hands pampering set. 🙂

  21. Hi Black Sheep! Haven’t see you around in a while. Mini satin hands set sounds cute. Can’t wait!

  22. Duh said

    Oh man, they did the mini set back a million years ago when I was in MK. Everybody loved it. I have to say, it was the only product that REALLY sold itself.

  23. Me said

    I wonder if Tracy’s post is true. I had the thought that perhaps she made it up to make herself sound more successful than she really is, where she can afford a high dollar pedicure every two weeks. You now “fake it till you make it.” If that is true, probably not a good idea to do that when you are trying to convince people you are not making money from your website.

  24. Mishi said

    Me you make two valid points.

    My guess is it’s not true.

    If it is true, it’s not a good idea to flaunt it with those you claim you are making no money from.

  25. Dizzy from the Dastardly ways of Tracy said

    I lurved the mini satin hands set. I was upset when they stopped selling it. If they sell it again, I might have to track down my MK friend and order me some.

    Me makes a good point (again!) – “Fake it till you make it” mentality with Tracy. She’s a fucktard.

    OH – anyone ever wonder HOW she can afford to get these pedis? For the amount of time she spends at her computer blogging, and reading all the sites, including PTLies, Mypinktruth and DUH, when does she have time to meet with clients? Oh yeah, that was VIRTUAL CLIENTELE.

    BITCHES!

  26. Dizzy – With as much time as she spends at her computer, it’s hard to believe her piggies need that much attention. I mean if you don’t walk around, then what’s the point in pampering your feet??

    Oh and if they do come out with the mini satin hands sets and you all want them, my theory is give the order to a consultant who you know is ethical. 🙂 Say perhaps, our own mkrules. (Ok, I know shameless plug for my buddy!)

  27. Me said

    Semi-Charmed, YOU are a consultant aren’t you? And I am sure you are ethical……..

  28. Yes, I am a consultant and very ethical. I just don’t work my business very hard (and as often) as mkrules. IMO, she has great potential to go up in MK and because of who she is, I don’t mind helping her achieve that. Plus, she is my friend. 🙂 And a shameless plug to sell MY own MK here wouldn’t be right.

  29. Me said

    Ok, I’ll plug you, you plug MK Rules. How’s that? 🙂

  30. Benito's Boo said

    Yes, my Benito can confirm…TRACY DOESN’T TIP FOR SHIT!!!

    Once upon a time, he served a drink to her at the virtual office and the bitch couldn’t even say thank you. He stood there quietly for a moment and she looked up and said ‘Oh, yeah’ so Benito felt sorta relieved…for a split second anyway. Tracy dropped his tip on his tray and told him to move along. Benito politely walked away and looked down at his tray. It was a FUCKIN’ PINK TRUTH CARD.

    Cheap ass Bitch!!

    Thank goodness Benito has his ptlies shirt now. It suits nicely as a Tracy deterent. He no longer has to worry about serving drinks to a bloated cheap ass Biotch! 🙂

  31. Thanks ME!

    Benito’s Boo ~ Why am I not surprised?? “bloated cheap as Biotch” — :))

  32. Benito's Boo said

    Oh, and he also confirmed that Tracy’s toes look like little midgets begging for a rescue.

  33. Too Funny said

    ROTFLMAO

  34. midgets begging for rescure…..no wonder she spends so much time getting pedicures.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

