Buttsniffing 303

Written By: ScrewU

This is page 3.  WordPress is not letting me put it all on 1 thread so read 101, 202, 303 & then 404 in that order.  Smarties

TRACY

PINK TRUTH
Trade Count: (0)
THE QUEEN
*****

Karma: 277
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: I am a geek!!

The PINK TRUTH will set you free.

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #30 on: Yesterday at 08:04 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

kjl – You are exactly right. I do my best to be fair in my administration of the board. I don’t always get it right. But I sure try. It is unfortunate that gossip and hostilities are overshadowing our true mission here. Please, lets carry on with helping others and enjoying the company of fellow board members.

 Pink Truth Rocks

Report to moderator   Logged

detective Truth. Justice. Community. Pink Truth.

pinkmomster

Trade Count: (1)
Baroness
**

Karma: 36
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 239

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #31 on: Yesterday at 08:05 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

guess it is like a family…there will always be differences of opinion.  I haven’t changed mine so I will bid you a good night.   Will check back when I’m more rested – it’s LATE here!  (or early) good night

Report to moderator   Logged

Cool There is always a lot to be thankful for if you take time to look for it.
      For example, I am sitting here thinking how nice it is that wrinkles don’t hurt.

apple berry

Trade Count: (6)
Countess
***

Karma: 134
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 877

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #32 on: Today at 02:50 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Kjl, you are correct. I came here for those reasons as well.  Moral has been lower, but that has a lot to do with so many people moving on recently.  It is harder to focus on being friendly and fun when those you used to kid with are gone.  That is one of the reasons why I have been quieter more recently. 

In this case I felt I needed to say something because the previous situation is still a very sore spot for me, and others, and while nothing can be done to “undo” that (well, removing the post that makes the public humiliation still visible would be a start), while I read this I was amazed that this one was allowed.  IMHO it was the total application of a double standard, which is another sore spot in the moral button here.  Most of the people who were stirring the pot have moved on/been banned (depending on the person).  Many that are left have either taken a back seat because we wanted to pull out of the drama, or because they were afraid they would be sanctioned.

Personally I have been under a lot of stress, and so maybe coming here last night was a bad idea, it just got my dander up (used to be relaxing).  I am sad that PT has turned into a drama ball recently.  I am sorry that many of my friends have moved on.  I am sorry that I can’t make heads or tails of when something is acceptable and when it is not.  I am not, however, sorry that I questioned this because others were too.  Some posted and some did not.  I agree with momster re: my opinion on the situation not changing.  I am sorry it doesn’t really matter what my opinion is though.

Report to moderator   Logged

Sarcastic ::giggles:: I just *love* this guy!

Not a Bee-liever

MAVEN
Trade Count: (2)
Countess
***

Karma: 114
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,177

Si tienes preguntas en español, puedo ayudarte.

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #33 on: Today at 03:37 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

apple berry, I agree with you that the situations are the same (threads in the same cloth).  I also think that your opinion is important and I am glad that you expressed it because we all have a lot to learn from one another.  If I expressed support of Shay’s website it was because I like supporting women when they try to use their life in a positive way.  I also express support of other women’s efforts to improve themselves, other women’s blogs, and other women’s businesses by trying to be friendly and understanding.  If supporting both sides makes me wishy washy or makes me a hypocrite then that saddens me.  I feel like some women (obviously including me) wear their hearts on their sleeves and when they express themselves or share a part of their personal lives I want to support them in any way possible.

Report to moderator   Logged

Girlfriend  You best get off the internet and work yo’ bidness girlfriend!

ShayinSC

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 31
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 282

Brilliant, talented, beautiful. Modest, too.

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #34 on: Today at 03:40 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: TRACY on Yesterday at 07:07 PM

Shay can correct me if I’m wrong, but this women’s group is not a business. She asked for feedback on her site for a support group, and we’ve given it.

Yes, this is a women’s group.  It is a support group for ladies that have started their own businesses.  As you can see by the “About our Members” page, the featured businesses and links are for businesses that are sole proprietor – type businesses, not MLM’s.

I asked for feedback on it to see if it was user-friendly.  One of the things mentioned was how the Home page was centered, and that I should change it.  I got that comment from more than one person, actually (I asked a few friends to look at the site, too, and that was mentioned), so I changed it.

I am a firm believer in having a fresh set of eyes look at a new site.  I can look at it, but I am biased because I created it.  It’s my baby.  Mama

IN NO WAY was I looking for sales or anything else.  In fact, my personal site is not even set up for sales yet, so that is not possible.  Smiley

I was simply trying to get a fresh perspective on the site and how it looked.

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends drive pink. Drink

usedtobepinkfreshmeat

Trade Count: (0)
Viscountess
**

Karma: 44
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #35 on: Today at 03:51 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Shay, since you’re here, I’ll ask you directly.  I don’t want to sound like an investigator, or make this into an interrogation, but I think this will clear a lot of things up.

Your website on the front page says: “Women who work from home (either with a direct-selling company or your own business you have started from scratch).”

Does that mean you support people who are currently in an MLM? MK, Avon, or any other direct selling company?
How do you help these women?  It says you help by:

Quote

    * A message board where you can post and promote about your business
    * Co-op advertising
    * Events help to gain customers/sales
    * Promotional events
    * Support, advice, encouragement
How do you help someone who is in an MLM?  I know you said you’ve brought some who were in MLM to the “light” but how will this website help someone who does not want to see the light?

And how do you help someone find a business? Do you help them get into an MLM? The website says:

Quote

      Helping you decide if a home business is for you
    *
      Helping you decide what type of business you want to start
    *
      Connecting you with resources for legal concerns, financing, etc.
    *
      Helping you with ideas for funding, marketing and sales
What businesses do you look at?

LG had a fantastic point:

Quote

I don’t see any links to the Small Business Administration or any other sites that really help people get something going … legitimate, non-MLM agencies that will act as mentors (with no financial gain from your choices.

maybe this was the point in which we started to feel weary about the website.

Other than that, let my web designer come through:
the BizKids font color hurts my eyes, so you might want to consider changing it to a different color?

on the Request More Information site, there is no button to press submit.

Is there any way you can use a different font? On my monitor, it’s very rough edged looking.

Report to moderator   Logged

Arr, Mateys. Ahoy! Th’ pink ship be sinkin’!

ShayinSC

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 31
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 282

Brilliant, talented, beautiful. Modest, too.

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #36 on: Today at 04:21 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: usedtobepinkfreshmeat on Today at 03:51 AM

Shay, since you’re here, I’ll ask you directly.  I don’t want to sound like an investigator, or make this into an interrogation, but I think this will clear a lot of things up.

Your website on the front page says: “Women who work from home (either with a direct-selling company or your own business you have started from scratch).”

Does that mean you support people who are currently in an MLM? MK, Avon, or any other direct selling company?
How do you help these women?  It says you help by:

Quote

    * A message board where you can post and promote about your business
    * Co-op advertising
    * Events help to gain customers/sales
    * Promotional events
    * Support, advice, encouragement
How do you help someone who is in an MLM?  I know you said you’ve brought some who were in MLM to the “light” but how will this website help someone who does not want to see the light?

And how do you help someone find a business? Do you help them get into an MLM? The website says:

Quote

      Helping you decide if a home business is for you
    *
      Helping you decide what type of business you want to start
    *
      Connecting you with resources for legal concerns, financing, etc.
    *
      Helping you with ideas for funding, marketing and sales
What businesses do you look at?

LG had a fantastic point:

Quote

I don’t see any links to the Small Business Administration or any other sites that really help people get something going … legitimate, non-MLM agencies that will act as mentors (with no financial gain from your choices.

maybe this was the point in which we started to feel weary about the website.

Other than that, let my web designer come through:
the BizKids font color hurts my eyes, so you might want to consider changing it to a different color?

on the Request More Information site, there is no button to press submit.

Is there any way you can use a different font? On my monitor, it’s very rough edged looking.
First off, I did not realize there was no submit button for the Request More Info page – one more reason to have someone else look at it!  (You were the first to notice it!)  I will work on fonts and colors, too. Smiley

Now, to the other questions.  Pepper

For DS companies, I only allow sales promotion, not recruiting.

If someone wants to start a business (or thinks she might want to start one), I sit with her and help her decide the best business for her.  Most of the time, she ends up turning a hobby into a business.  I don’t rep for a DS company, so I have no “financial interest” in her decision.

I don’t see how sticking a link on my site makes it legitimate or not.  If that were the case, I could start an Amway site, stick a link on it to the SBA and then rest easy at night.  Too Funny  There is a local site (for SC) that I refer people to regarding licensing, etc.  If someone needs funding to start a biz, I help them get it.  If I cannot help her get the funding (for a really big startup cost), then I help her start on a smaller scale and work from there.  HOWEVER, I have people contact me first, so I can personally help her.

Why?  Because I like helping women start businesses.  I raised 2 kids for 6 years by myself working from home, so I know how it can be done, and I know how much easier working from home can be (and less stressful).

Ladies, my motives were/are pure for starting this thread.  I was asking for feedback on a site – and I got it.  I appreciate it.  I cannot help what has happened in the past – who got booted, which threads got deleted, who got roasted for posts.  I asked for help sincerely and I got sincere feedback.

And that is what I asked for. 

Thank you.  Hug

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends drive pink. Drink

ShayinSC

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 31
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 282

Brilliant, talented, beautiful. Modest, too.

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #37 on: Today at 04:24 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

 “I know you said you’ve brought some who were in MLM to the “light” but how will this website help someone who does not want to see the light?”

Sorry – forgot to answer this part.

As someone has said – “You can lead an IBC to PT, but you can’t make her  Rose Colored Glasses

I can’t help anyone who doesn’t want to see the light.  Neither can you.  Neither can Tracy.

All I can do is suggest and inform.

 Hug

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends drive pink. Drink

usedtobepinkfreshmeat

Trade Count: (0)
Viscountess
**

Karma: 44
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #38 on: Today at 04:29 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: ShayinSC on Today at 04:21 AM

If someone wants to start a business (or thinks she might want to start one), I sit with her and help her decide the best business for her.  Most of the time, she ends up turning a hobby into a business.  I don’t rep for a DS company, so I have no “financial interest” in her decision.

I don’t see how sticking a link on my site makes it legitimate or not.  If that were the case, I could start an Amway site, stick a link on it to the SBA and then rest easy at night.  Too Funny  There is a local site (for SC) that I refer people to regarding licensing, etc.  If someone needs funding to start a biz, I help them get it.  If I cannot help her get the funding (for a really big startup cost), then I help her start on a smaller scale and work from there.  HOWEVER, I have people contact me first, so I can personally help her.
I don’t think LG was trying to suggest to make it look legitimate by putting the Small Business Administration link, but SBA is a useful link FOR your site’s purpose.

Report to moderator   Logged

Arr, Mateys. Ahoy! Th’ pink ship be sinkin’!

ShayinSC

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 31
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 282

Brilliant, talented, beautiful. Modest, too.

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #39 on: Today at 04:31 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: usedtobepinkfreshmeat on Today at 04:29 AM

Quote from: ShayinSC on Today at 04:21 AM

If someone wants to start a business (or thinks she might want to start one), I sit with her and help her decide the best business for her.  Most of the time, she ends up turning a hobby into a business.  I don’t rep for a DS company, so I have no “financial interest” in her decision.

I don’t see how sticking a link on my site makes it legitimate or not.  If that were the case, I could start an Amway site, stick a link on it to the SBA and then rest easy at night.  Too Funny  There is a local site (for SC) that I refer people to regarding licensing, etc.  If someone needs funding to start a biz, I help them get it.  If I cannot help her get the funding (for a really big startup cost), then I help her start on a smaller scale and work from there.  HOWEVER, I have people contact me first, so I can personally help her.
I don’t think LG was trying to suggest to make it look legitimate by putting the Small Business Administration link, but SBA is a useful link FOR your site’s purpose.
I saw her use of the word “legitimate” and assumed it meant having a “legitimate” site link would add to the “legitimacy” of my site.  Smiley

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends drive pink. Drink

usedtobepinkfreshmeat

Trade Count: (0)
Viscountess
**

Karma: 44
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #40 on: Today at 04:36 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: Lazy Gardens on Aug 26, 04:13 AM

I don’t see any links to the Small Business Administration or any other sites that really help people get something going … legitimate, non-MLM agencies that will act as mentors (with no financial gain from your choices.

Nope, she meant [as far as I can see] legitimate, non-MLM agencies.  Not by putting this link up, it makes your site look legitimate.

 Thumbs Up

Report to moderator   Logged

Arr, Mateys. Ahoy! Th’ pink ship be sinkin’!

ShayinSC

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 31
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 282

Brilliant, talented, beautiful. Modest, too.

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #41 on: Today at 04:40 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: usedtobepinkfreshmeat on Today at 04:36 AM

Quote from: Lazy Gardens on Aug 26, 04:13 AM

I don’t see any links to the Small Business Administration or any other sites that really help people get something going … legitimate, non-MLM agencies that will act as mentors (with no financial gain from your choices.

Nope, she meant [as far as I can see] legitimate, non-MLM agencies.  Not by putting this link up, it makes your site look legitimate.

 Thumbs Up
Gotcha!   My bad!  Smiley

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends drive pink. Drink

Personal Use Recruiter

MAVEN
Trade Count: (0)
Marchioness
***

Karma: 241
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,216

View  Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #42 on: Today at 05:08 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: apple berry on Yesterday at 06:25 PM

Alright, at the risk of getting tomatoed, I am going to share this.

I have a hard time with this thread.  It seems to me that although this site does not actively promote MLMs, it doesn’t condemn them either.  While I personally do not see anything wrong with that, as I certainly don’t take a hard line against them (as long as people know they have a very expensive hobby, and not a business), the issue that I am having is that one of my friends here in cyber world got nearly crucified for posting about her business.  It was taken that she was promoting MLMs and “feeding the beast” though I can’t remember who exactly said that.  I am sure I could look it up.

I had a very difficult time swallowing the, what I considered public humiliation, after she discreetly got rid of her own post not to cause any issues.

To me, this is not much different from my friend.  My problem is not with the website, or even the promoting it. Personally my problem is that I really see this as another thread on the same cloth.  The difference is that one is being encouraged, and one was reprimanded.

Maybe I have been up too long, and I am missing something here.  Maybe it doesn’t matter anymore, but I have to ask why one is allowed and the other was not.
Anneszoo, who at the time was an inventory liquidator who promoted her own Ebay business on Pink Truth with Tracy’s blessing and endorsement, was blatantly soliciting here at PT on that thread for someone to place a qualifying order with a MLM to buy the promotional item for her (a qualifying order is one that triggers a consultant to regain or retain “active” status.) 

Again:  Please keep in mind that she did not just ask for a single item to be ordered for her.  She was asking that a consultant place a qualifying order to be able to purchase a promotional item.  MLMs run these promotions all the time to get their consultants to re-up en mass.  Pink Truth is not all about helping MLMs retain their consultants.

I was the Maven who stepped in to gently remind that this type of solicitation is not appropriate on these boards, and counter to PT’s mission.    Anneszoo was unnecessarily rude to me, and then Tracy clarified.  The whole situation has nothing to do with whether Personal Use consultants are welcome on PT, which indeed they are, and I reiterated that fact on the thread.   But somehow that became the lightening rod issue.  I find it interesting that a few people have kept stirring the pot to such a boiling point, first on that day to make it so the thread had to be reinstated 8 hours after it was deleted by Anneszoo herself, and now bringing it up months later to attack both new members and the Pink Truth community guidelines.  How RIDICULOUS!!!  That thread is here: http://www.pinktruth.com/index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=65&topic=3033.0

The fact that Shay says she also welcomes PU consultants on her board (sorry, I have not had a chance to check out your site yet, Shay) and also offers education on how to get out of MLM and start their own non-MLM businesses, now that is not much different from what PT is doing, no?   I am sure if the linked site turns out to be not what is represented here, then the link will be deleted. 

Shay, I am sorry these folks are grinding their axes on your thread. 

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends MLM.  Girlfriend

evebichon2

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 23
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 142

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #43 on: Today at 05:09 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

One board that I have been on has been very active for a long time.  The rules are pretty simple — mainly it’s be nice and civil or you are banned.  It works.  And we argue politics there!  We also discuss and argue and debate a million other topics. 

( I just asked that board how long it has been on the web.  We cannot agree on that, either!  But  almost 12  years.)

I think one reason it works is that the members accept that the board is not a democracy. We are guests of the owner and it’s his “house”.  If we don’t like how he does things, fine. We can tell him. But he gets the final say on anything.  We don’t debate his decisions to ban people or to delete threads or any other housekeeping he and the mods have to do. 

He tries to be fair.  He does have to ban someone once in awhile who does not want to follow the rules. I sometimes think he is “more fair” to some people over others.  But, his board, his decision.  Not up for debate. And some folks do flounce away sometimes. 

Running a board and keeping people civil on the internet is not easy when you have yellow dog democrats arguing with nutwing conservatives!  (those descriptions are just a joke way to say the feelings are strong).  But it works because there is one final decision maker. 

We don’t expect the board to do everything perfectly.  It’s a discussion board and it’s impossible to please everyone all the time.  And EVERY rule ever made is seen differently by different people in how it is applied.  That is life.

My humble opinion — if you disagree with Tracy send her a pm or just post your opinion once.  It is not helpful to debate decisions as if there needs to be a consensus of the whole membership.  Consensus is nice, but it will never happen on all decisions with a large group of people.  Plus, trying to moderate the moderators of a board is too much moderation.  Again, just an opinion.  I don’t make the rules here and I am fine with how things are done here.  I am very grateful this is here and I don’t care if I disagree with the moderation once in awhile.
 Cactus

peace

Report to moderator   Logged

I bought a book on overcoming procrastination.  Someday I may get around to reading it.

ShayinSC

Trade Count: (0)
Baroness
**

Karma: 31
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 282

Brilliant, talented, beautiful. Modest, too.

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Re: Can you take a look at my new website?

« Reply #44 on: Today at 05:20 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Quote from: Personal Use Recruiter on Today at 05:08 AM

The fact that Shay says she also welcomes PU consultants on her board (sorry, I have not had a chance to check out your site yet, Shay) and also offers education on how to get out of MLM and start their own non-MLM businesses, now that is not much different from what PT is doing, no?   I am sure if the linked site turns out to be not what is represented here, then the link will be deleted. 

Shay, I am sorry these folks are grinding their axes on your thread. 

Thanks, PUR.  Hug

When I first came to PT, I was with a DS company.  I mentioned that when I joined, but never mentioned the company.

I have since resigned with that company and started my own.  Had I not been allowed to stay on PT because I was still with a DS company, I would not have left the DS company I was with.  (And I really loved the company, too.)

I have also helped people leave several other companies since being on PT.  Pink Truth Rocks  As time goes on, I will be able to help more.  Luv U

Thanks again, PUR.  Hug

Report to moderator   Logged

Friends don’t let friends drive pink. Drink

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Up
  Reply  |  Notify  |  Mark unread  |  Send this topic  |  Print  
 

9 Comments »

  1. Dana said

    Okay, PUR is Tracy Jr. She disgusts me.

    First of all, Anne’s Zoo (who I’ve never talked to) did not say “is anyone willing to order for me.” She said “If anyone is going to place an order soon, let me know.”

    Second of all, she accuses her of being unnecessarily rude, yet everything she types drips with disdain for those around her.

    Third “I was the Maven who stepped in” somebody has let “Maven” go to her head, hasn’t she?

  2. NoNoNoNoIDontSmokeItNoMore said

    bla bla bla

  3. Duh said

    They didn’t even have Mavens when this particular incident happened, did they? So she was really just “the person who stuck her nose in somebody else’s beeswax (AGAIN, I might add) and caused an unnecessary argument”.

  4. formerlyPLZ said

    Two words: FUCK PUR

  5. Duh said

    No thank you, PLZ. My God, what a disturbing thought!

  6. Mercedes said

    PUR sucks big #$%#!

  7. eyesicle said

    OH MY GOSH ARE YOU KIDDING ME??????????????????????????????????

    EXACTLY, Dana and Duh. I remember that whole incident and I remember thinking, “Wow, AZ is so nice. Why would they smack her down like that? She just said, “If anyone is ordering…” And, yeah, no Mavens then.

    AND AZ wasn’t “unneccesarily rude” to anyone. I liked PUR, usually, and have given her Karma B4. However, here I have to say she is rewriting history. I WAS THERE, People! I feel bad for PUR that she isn’t seeing logic here.

    And, Eve B….I don’t think she has enuff grasp on the history of things that have happened there. PT = not a level playing field.

    Sorry about the RANT but that just CHAPS MY ASS!

  8. formerlyPLZ said

    LOL no worries DUH, I wouldn’t wish that on you.

  9. ScrewU said

    formerly PLZ
    I am a big fan of those 2 words when put together

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

