When opportunity knocks!

anti_jehovah_doorknocker1.jpg 

In a pathetic attempt to show us that she is in fact supportive of Suzy and Raisin’s decision to start their own blog, Tracy has taken to inserting their link onto the discussion board.  Rather nice of her, I think. 

In the thread below, Tracy mentions the link in response to Unbeelievable’s post on that thread.  The only reason I can think of that she specifically mentions Unbeelievable’s post is because she’s very aware that she posts here and wants to show her that she has no problem posting the link to a “rival” blog.   

If this is not the case, why doesn’t Tracy explain why she’s posting the link.  I think a better post would have said something like, “My friends just started a blog about finding a job after Mary Kay.  Check it out.”  She didn’t say that though.  Odd.

Author Topic: AFLAC, anyone?  (Read 85 times)
PenneyT

Trade Count: (0)
Lady-In-Waiting

Karma: 3
[applaud] [boo]
Online Online

Posts: 16

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

AFLAC, anyone?

« on: Yesterday at 11:22 PM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I got sucked into AFLAC a couple of years ago. They DO want you to sell the insurance, but there is ALSO a big emphasis on getting recruits in under you to become a “district manager” or “regional manager.” The market, much like MK, tends to be oversaturated…and hey, the duck commercial is great, but…no one really knows what AFLAC is selling…especially not new agents like me. I was told that I was so “sharp” (AAAAGGGHHHH), I didn’t require the kind of oversight and training most people needed. I was still no good at cold calls…the “leads” they gave me panned out to nothing…it was just like MK all over again, except you didn’t have to go out and falsely compliment people and then attack. I paid $96 for a tutorial to help me pass the Texas Insurance Commission test (hard test, and I did pass it on the first try…) and then I paid another $75 for my week long training…which my “regional manager” did not get turned in to the people in time, so I didn’t get my week long training…but…hey, go out there and spend money on a laptop, business cards, etc., and you’ll be making money before you know it!! Anyone else had this experience?

Report to moderator   Logged

TRACY

PINK TRUTH
Trade Count: (0)
Marchioness
*****

Karma: 296
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,962

The PINK TRUTH will set you free..

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: AFLAC, anyone?

« Reply #1 on: Today at 10:41 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

I don’t think that AFLAC is technically an MLM, but if I”m wrong about that, I want to know. I thought it was just like being an insurance agent.

I had a friend who did it, and she did make a living just selling. She didn’t want to manage any people. I know she was asked to manage a group, and she didn’t bring any of them in, so that’s what makes me think it’s not an MLM. (In MLM people are always managed by those above them in the pyramid, and she wasn’t above anyone.)

Anyone else have information about AFLAC?

Report to moderator   Logged

detective Truth. Justice. Community. Pink Truth.

unbeelievable

Trade Count: (0)
Lady
*

Karma: 16
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 97

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Re: AFLAC, anyone?

« Reply #2 on: Today at 11:16 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

AFLAC is discussed (as is Mary Kay, interestingly) in a book called “Bait and Switch” by Barbara Elenrich (I may have mispelled her last name).   I highly recommend the book by the way, it’s about a woman’s search for a job when she (1) has a college degree but (2) has stayed home with the kids and has little job experience.  Sadly, at the end of an entire year of resume coaching, going to networking meetings, etc., she only is “hired” by Mary Kay and AFLAC.

From what I’ve heard, the number of people who make good money just by selling AFLAC is about the same as the number who do in MK (although it is slightly higher b/c the comissions are better). 

Report to moderator   Logged

Lazy Gardens

MAVEN
Trade Count: (0)
Countess
***

Karma: 222
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,305

View Profile WWW Personal Message (Offline)

Re: AFLAC, anyone?

« Reply #3 on: Today at 11:24 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Looking at the AFLAC web site, they are emphasizing selling and customer service. There is no meniton of recruiting on their site.

Maybe they tried the recruiting stuff and it led to bad recruits … hiring is a skill that not everyone has.

Report to moderator   Logged

TRACY

PINK TRUTH
Trade Count: (0)
Marchioness
*****

Karma: 296
[applaud] [boo]
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,962

The PINK TRUTH will set you free.

View Profile Email Personal Message (Offline)

Re: AFLAC, anyone?

« Reply #4 on: Today at 11:50 AM »

Reply with quoteQuote

Ooh… Unbee gives me an incredible opportunity to plug Raisin’s and SuzyQ’s blog…

http://afterward.wordpress.com



Report to moderator   Logged

detective Truth. Justice. Community. Pink Truth.

11 Comments »

  1. ptlies said

    aaawww, was that Tracy trying to grow a sense of humor?……no?

    check out Tracy’s new blog (www.ptlies.com)

  2. My Cat Came Back said

    lmfao!! I just luv that door knocker. Oh, that is so perfect. Where can I get me one of them? too too funny. They luv to stop at my house. My sister often threatens to answer the door in the nude!! My sister is a plus size woman. I luv it!!

  3. My Cat, I am with you. Where the hell can I get me one of those??? It would go over sooooooooooo well in my small bible belt town. I live directly across the street from a very strict Christian college. They already give us shit for celebrating that pagen holiday, Halloween. (tee hee) They have even passed out religious literature and tried to steer trick-or-treaters away from our highly over decorated devil worshipping house. (Doesn’t work, btw.)

    Can’t wait, almost that time of year again and we will be having a bigger display this year with live zombies. It has now become a bit of a tradition (4 years so far) and last year we had nearly 500 trick or treaters.

  4. My Cat Came Back said

    Semi – that’s awesome! Hey, they can denounce stuff, why can’t we celebrate and enjoy what we believe in too. You give it to em 😉

  5. Not a Bee-liever said

    My Cat Came Back and Semi, there are a lot of people with that same question (where to buy the doorknocker). Google it for good times. There seem to be some seekers on ebay, but I didn’t find anyone selling it. LOL!

    Semi, Your Halloween tradition sounds like a lot of fun. But living across from that college doesn’t sound like much fun. What are your kids going to dress up as?

  6. Duped said

    That door knocker is from Scary Movie 2 (which is a fucking hilarious movie, btw), so I know that much. They either had it made specifically for the show by the set departments or they purchased it. You could look under movie memorabilia in Ebay to see – it may get you more results. 🙂

    Fart knockers.

  7. Dizzy from the Dastardly ways of Tracy said

    OK Tracy’s comment has nothing to do with the thread in my opinion. WTF?

    Semi ~ I too lurve Halloween, we always decorate the front of the house. Even took a Halloween decorating class at the community college. We throw a big Halloween Party every year, those this will be the last since we are now divorced. But it’s always good times!

    HOOKERS!

  8. My baby girl (8) will be someone from High School Musical, the fancy dress up type, the boy says he is going as a girl (he’s 12) and my oldest (14 almost 15) says she isn’t going this year.

    Halloween is more for us adults this year. I love decorating scary themes, dressing up, and having fun, too! When us parents trick or treat with the kids, we carry a beer, wine, or whatever, with us. When we are empty, we adults would trick or treat for refills or new beers. It has always gone over well. (Mind you we keep cold beers on hand at our house for other adults as well.) When we moved in to our current house, we brought the tradition with us. Turns out, most of the neighborhood goes along with it. Woo Hoo!

    As for the college across the street, it’s not sooooo bad. They have a great group of Christmas Carrolers every year and other than the few extremists that hate our Halloween displays, they are really good kids. Definitely no issues with late night frat parties and drunk driving crap. 🙂

  9. Duh said

    You’re daughter is going as Shar-pei, Semi? Haha! Maybe she could go as the naked girl. Vanessa whatever. That’d be an easy costume to make!

    Mine wants to go as Hannah Montana. BTW, I got tickets to her concert. Cause I’m the best mom EVA! I’m having a crisis though because I could put them on Ebay and get 4 times what I paid for them.

  10. Yeah, Shar-pei, as long as I can do the big hair she said. Hell, I grew up in the 80’s, Queen of Aqua Net. I can create BIG hair. No naked girl, easy costume or not! She’d freeze and get sick for sure. Then we’d have to go to the doctors, she’d have to stay home from school, and…..

    Last year we had a group of 5 16/17 year old girls trick or treat as Victoria Secret models. (They had flesh body suits with Vicky’s bras, thongs and heels.) I thought my hubby was gonna fall over. We offered them some clothes instead of candy. My parents would never have allowed me to go out like that, so I figure they changed after they left home or their parents don’t give a shit. Damn rich kids.

    As for Hannah Montana, let the crisis slide. It’s far better to be the “best mom EVA” than the damn biatch who sold the Hannah Montana tickets out from under the kid!

  11. painting pink pjs said

    Duh,

    Hey, you are a cool mom. My daughter wants tickets to the show, but I was surprised at the price. 90.00 a ticket? My friends paid 90 to see Eric Clapton this summer in a 12 hour concert.

    What is up with that?

    Luckily, the daughter is happy with the Hannah Montana bookbag.

    pppj

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

