Dear Abby

things-to-do-image.gif

Written By: ScrewU

I found this on Pink Truth and thought it would be interesting for us to discuss.  Allsmiley is asking for opinions and who better to give those then us?  Her recruiter is her sister and when she returned product, she offered to pay her sister the chargeback.  Now, I think thats just dumb but maybe it’s worth it for family peace.  What I don’t get is why she is questioning it now.  Maybe she just doesn’t want to part with her money after thinking about it.  I think it’s funny how one of the people responding to this post try to make it about MK and not about mixing money and family.  Let me tell you… it’s never a good thing.  Why do you think so many people are on People’s Court, Judge Judy and Judge Mathis suiing their family?  Family and money are bad bad combo’s.  Anyways, read on and leave your 2 cents.

TOPIC: Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind…
#3852
Allsmiley (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 24
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 3 Hours ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
My recruiter happens to be my sister. In order to get out of MK, I didn’t tell her the complete truth behind my “closing” my business. I told her that I am called by God to teach (COMPLETELY true) and that I was not called to be in MK. BUT, I didn’t tell her about the manipulation and deception I felt because she is still in the fog.

Well, at the time, we knew about chargeback. I told her that I would pay her chargebacks because I didn’t want her to be screwed by the company. Since then, I have sent her about $500 of section II and other supplies… Boulevard program, Ascend, Rena CDs, other tapes and CDs for recruiting and NSD motivation, countless bags and wrapping supplies, etc… When I sent her these things (highly suggested by her), I said (in a roundabout way) that this can help offset the costs of the chargebacks. I then asked her POINT BLANK if she would pay me for the supplies, or if we were even. She said “I wasn’t planning to pay for those supplies. Let’s just worry about the chargebacks when I get them.”

Well, today, she emailed me to see when I will be paying her chargebacks.

Thing you have to understand about my sister is that she really thinks she will be an NSD. Thus, she is still fogged over… The world owes her everything (isn’t that the MK way?). I did say (before sending everything) that I would pay for them. I truly thought it was the right thing to do.

NOW, I just don’t want to, and don’t really have the money to pay them anyhow.

What would you do? It’s a family member… I can’t just tell her no and it’s done, you know? HELP!

         
 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3853
Whiz (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 11
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
Female 1978-02-16

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 3 Hours ago Karma: 1  Karma+ Karma-
She knew charge backs as a recruiter could be a cost of doing business. Even though she’s a family member, I would ask her to consider the items you gave her as partial payment towards the charge backs. $500 in supplies is nothing to sneeze at! She needs to remember that you paid for those items on your own and from your own pocket. You could easily have sold them on Ebay or other venue to recapture your costs instead. It will certainly be difficult for you both, but she needs to be fair just as you need to follow through with your original commitment to helping her with the burden of charge backs.
  
 
   
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3854
bellsmommie (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 19
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 3 Hours ago Karma: 1  Karma+ Karma-
Please tell me what a chargeback is?

I was only a consultant for a few months and have just sent my inventory back.

God forbid I get a call from my recruiter or crazy SD wanting money.

So please, before I worry myself to death, what’s a chargeback?

    
 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3855
Rachel (User)

Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 70
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 3 Hours ago Karma: 1  Karma+ Karma-
Honestly, I think you should keep your word. Sending her a bunch of section II stuff that she probably wouldn’t have bought otherwise, won’t recoup her losses. You can discuss how much you’re able and willing to pay (as well as when) — it’s reasonable to considering giving her stuff as part of the payment, but it’s in no way worth as much as actual money. Maybe someone who does trades could estimate its eBay value for you or something.
    
 
  
 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3856
Rachel (User)

Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 70
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 3 Hours ago Karma: 1  Karma+ Karma-
Your recruiter and SD will have to pay back any commission they earned from the stuff you’re sending back. They have no right to ask you for it, though. If they try that, they’re wrong, and you just ignore them.

In the case here, she promised to pay them for her recruiter before she sent the stuff back, which is different. She had no obligation to promise that, but since it’s her sister, there is some reason for it.

 
  
 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3858
bellsmommie (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 19
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 3 Hours ago Karma: 1  Karma+ Karma-
Thanks. I knew that they had to pay back their commission on what I sent back. Just wanted to make sure that was the “chargeback.” At least I know that they can’t ask me for money in return.

Things get hairy when you mix business with family. Hope your situation works out for you!

 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3860
simplyme (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 12
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
Female Midwest 1980-09-16

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 2 Hours ago Karma: 1  Karma+ Karma-
Wow, this is a tough one. I think finding out the approximate resale value of what you sent your sister would be beneficial in negotiating this. Unfortunatlely, I think Rachel is right that taking the full value of those items and just calling it even isn’t fair either. Maybe take a percentage of the cost of items you sent her and taking that off the chargebacks would be fair. I feel for you, Allsmiley, this is complicated and I hope you can maneuver through it and come out with your relationship intact! I would hate to see another family divided by MK!!!
 
   
 
\"You must be the change you wish to see in the world.\" Ghandi
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3861
NewJourney (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 24
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 2 Hours ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
Allsmiley,

I would begin by empathizing with her that you realize that the chargeback would be a hardship on her. Next, I would ask her to see that your unusable section 2 items represent a financial hardship on you. I would then ask her if she isn’t going to use them, to please return them to you because you intend to get some cash for them on e-bay. Finally ask her, if she’d be okay with you paying her chargeback on a payment plan. Tell her you can pay some now, and the rest when your items sell on e-bay.

The whole e-bay thing will get her feathers ruffled a bit (you may also want to mention how amazed you are at the number of MK items on e-bay), but it may shine a little bit of reality into her pink-fogged world. Not everyone will payback her chargebacks to her. Ask her if she’s prepared for that.

You sound like a great, supportive sister! I hope she sees the light soon. I so empathize with you; my sister was my director, and she’s still in the fog.

Another thought, if you don’t like the above idea, and she keeps all that section 2 stuff. You may want to ask her if she doesn’t just love the Ascends program? The reason you may want to take this approach is that it is this very program that helped me to realize that I was not making enough money to cover my debt. MK “money managment” lessons are so vague that someone untrained in running a business can easily be talked into overlooking this, but this doesn’t glaze over anything. The numbers speak louder than the “pink positive thoughts”.

Best wishes to you. Keep us posted on what happens.

 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3865
Imdone (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 31
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 1 Hour ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
I also feel for you. I would also talk to your sister about a compromise with all the section 2 you sent her. If she refuses to discuss it ask her to return EVERY piece of section two you sent her. You can also sell everthing (including cd’s) to www.touchofpinkcosmetics.com. They will buy at 50%. You will loose out on taxes but you can write those off on your taxes.

Hope things go well for you. This is a tough one. Good luck.

 
   
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3867
TRACY (Admin)

Pink Truth Rocks!
Admin
Posts: 310
graph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
WalletPop Personal Finance

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 1 Hour ago Karma: 20  Karma+ Karma-
Normally, I would tell someone that if the recruiter complains about the chargeback and wants to money, remind her that when she got the commission in the beginning, she didn’t give it to you… so why would she expect you to pay her when the chargeback comes through?

HOWEVER, in this situation you told her that you’d pay her for the chargeback, and I think you should keep your word. As much as you probably wish you hadn’t told her that, you did. And so I think you owe it to her.

I don’t think giving her section 2 stuff instead fulfills that commitment, unless she had agreed to it before you gave it to her.

Sorry….

 
 
The Pink Truth will set you free!
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3869
Allsmiley (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 24
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 1 Hour ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
THank you for all of your responses. I emailed her back (unfortunately, she deals in emails while she’s at work). I asked if she would take payments. As much as I don’t want to pay this, I agree that I did offer it in the beginning. Although she wanted all of my section II and supplies, she didn’t offer to pay for it. I guess I gave her $500 in free supplies, $50 in shipping, and I’m about to pay her $200 in chargebacks. I don’t have the money right now. It’s either groceries, or chargebacks… Guess she’ll be in my budget on a payment plan.
 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3870
eleni (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 5
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day, 1 Hour ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
I think it depends on how much money we are talking about here. If it’s under $500 and it’s worth it to pay her to avoid family conflict then by all means pay it. Any more than that and I would eat crow and tell her that you made a mistake by telling her you would pay her and that you realized it isn’t actually money YOU OWE her. She already received that money and most likely already SPENT it.
I can’t even imagine why your sister would expect you to pay her. If she really thinks it through, how could she justify that? She would be TAKING money from you.

I do think it’s important to be “a woman of your word” (how many times did I hear that in MK?!) but there are circumstances when we make offers before we have all the facts and before we think things through.

good luck.

  
 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
Go to top Post Reply Favorite to this topic
#3878
NewJourney (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 24
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
That sounds good, Allsmiley! You’ll feel better when it’s paid and you’re done w/ anymore MK guilt. You’re doing the right thing.

Do bring up the Ascends and ask her which envelope she’s going to put your “chargeback/payback” in. Sales income? Commission income? Also ask her how she is going to prepare herself for future chargebacks. My sister guilted me about the chargeback out of one side of her mouth, and then in the next breath, she told me that she’s budgets for chargebacks and that “she could handle it” ~ she’s a director, and they see more chargebacks than just your typical red jacket.

hang in there!

 
  
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3879
TRACY (Admin)

Pink Truth Rocks!
Admin
Posts: 310
graph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
WalletPop  Personal Finance

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day ago Karma: 20  Karma+ Karma-
I think it shows a lot of character that you are willing to do this. If I were her, I wouldn’t accept the money. This is about business, and part of the business is chargebacks. But you are doing the right thing (IMO) even if you are only habel to pay her a small amount each month for the next several months. Kudos to you.
 
  
 
The Pink Truth will set you free!
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3880
raisinberry (User)

Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 66
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 1 Day ago Karma: 9  Karma+ Karma-
You are trying to offset the “sting”…but she surely enjoyed the commission she received for the merchandise YOU SOLD.

What? you didnt sell it? Then she doesnt deserve the commission. Ask her is she knows that sales commission is for sold items? She is not entitled to it and it is unfortunate that she spent it already.

Ask for every bit of the supplies back, since she wants her money, since you are out hundreds of dollars for being sucked into this pink vortex.

The FAIR thing to do since she spent money that she had not earned, (As a Director she knew that going in—its no surprise!) and you lost money for being involved with a mlm pyramid scheme, why not split the chargeback? Do you have any recruits that she will gain commission from? If so—there is part of your payment also! She will continue to reap commission from people YOU brought in (if this applies)
and that should be part of the “figuring” as well.

 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3901
Black Nova (User)

More than meets the eye
Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 49
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
Female Washington State 1967-09-18

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 20 Hours, 46 Minutes ago Karma: 2  Karma+ Karma-
Allsmiley wrote:

QUOTE:
THank you for all of your responses. I emailed her back (unfortunately, she deals in emails while she’s at work). I asked if she would take payments. As much as I don’t want to pay this, I agree that I did offer it in the beginning. Although she wanted all of my section II and supplies, she didn’t offer to pay for it. I guess I gave her $500 in free supplies, $50 in shipping, and I’m about to pay her $200 in chargebacks. I don’t have the money right now. It’s either groceries, or chargebacks… Guess she’ll be in my budget on a payment plan.

You go, girl. Way to stand by your word. Payments are fine, since she never appeared to give you a deadline. Even just $20 a month will get that paid off pretty quick.

 
  
 
Sharp women think for themselves.
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3908
Chick In dissatisfAction (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 1
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 19 Hours, 36 Minutes ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
As a former Director, I believe that the recruiter should just consider the money she made off of you as an interest free loan. Noone should EVER ask for the chargeback $$$ back! It is your right to send it back… per the MK consultant agreement! If she weren’t your sister, would you consider giving the recruiter your chargeback money? I think NOT. Chances are you’ve already lost money.
  
 
  
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3919
Nanette (User)

Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 64
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the  profile of this user
Female California 1961-09-20

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 17 Hours, 59 Minutes ago Karma: 2  Karma+ Karma-
Mary Kay: Ruining Womens Relationships, Dividing Families
 
  
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3925
Allsmiley (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 24
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 17 Hours, 13 Minutes ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
She’s not yet a director, but yes, she did make money off of me. And, I did lose a TON of money in Mary Kay. ($4000 this year alone.) I would not have thought of paying anyone else’s chargebacks… But, she is my sister. And, I thought I was protecting her.

It was my stupidity for even bringing up paying her chargebacks to begin with. We have since talked on the phone, and she said she thought I was putting aside the money for that. I told her that I paid down my credit card and got my husband pants for work with the refund check. I did tell her that I would pay in payments, but she sort of shrugged it off then. Said, “don’t stress over it… MK hasn’t even told me how to pay it yet.”

To top it off, I couldn’t be dishonest anymore. She wanted to know if I needed any MK, and I told her that I have switched to Neutrogena for the time being. I was never into skincare or cosmetics pre-mk, and I told her that now that I am a little more “girly-girl” I feel the need to branch out and try new things.

Well… THANK YOU ALLLLLL!

 
  
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3934
MKidiotNOmore (User)

Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 37
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
Female Bowling Green, KY 1976-08-18

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 13 Hours, 5 Minutes ago Karma: 4  Karma+ Karma-
I admire your willingness to follow thru with your sister. However, please protect yourself. I’d ask to see something from her that was sent from MK showing the amount of the chargeback before I took her at her word for the amount that she says you owe her. Since she’s still in the fog, and she knows darn well that chargebacks are not usually paid back, she may just use this as a way to recoup other chargebacks that aren’t yours. Just make sure you’re only paying your chargeback and nothing more if that’s what you do finally decide to do.

Best of luck!

 
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3942
eleni (User)

Pink Truth Rookie
Posts: 5
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 6 Hours, 4 Minutes ago Karma: 0  Karma+ Karma-
I would get a receipt in case you claim your losses on your taxes. $4000 in losses seems worth filing long form to me.

Also, just wanted to clarify: Your sister ASKED you for your supplies, expected them to be free, AND you paid over $50 to ship them to her?? On top of that, she wants you to pay her charge back in full. OH, but she’s ALLOWING you to make payments. How gracious of her.

sorry for the sarcasm, MK makes me want to vomit.

 
  
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3949
Black Nova (User)

More than meets the eye
Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 49
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
Female Washington State 1967-09-18

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 5 Hours ago Karma: 2  Karma+ Karma-
I agree, by all means ask her to see the actual chargeback document. Also get a receipt–even if it’s just hand-written–for every payment, or pay by check.

I watch Judge Judy, I do.

 
 
Sharp women think for themselves.
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3962
Nanette (User)

Pink Truth Regular
Posts: 64
graphgraph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
Female California 1961-09-20

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 2 Hours, 54 Minutes ago Karma: 2  Karma+ Karma-
Allsmiley wrote:

QUOTE:

It was my stupidity for even bringing up paying her chargebacks to begin with. We have since talked on the phone, and she said she thought I was putting aside the money for that.

I would

    never

characterize your offer as “stupid” or anything even close to that. I think it is beyond generous and it shows where your priorities are at.

I am a bit disturbed that your sister does not view the “loss” as the cost of doing business, but I suppose that is for her to deal with.

I guess the way that I would look at it is that you are doing what sounds like is within your conscience, and I believe for that there is reward. You can live with yourself knowing you did not contribute to her “demise” when it happens. I suspect that she is feeling it anyway, not having anything to do with you.

 
   
  Quick Reply Reply Quote
#3974
TRACY (Admin)

Pink Truth Rocks!
Admin
Posts: 310
graph

Click here to send a Private Message to this user Click here to see the profile of this user
WalletPop  Personal Finance

Re:Recruiter asking me to pay her chargebacks… be kind… 2 Hours, 9 Minutes ago Karma: 20  Karma+ Karma-
I don’t think you were “stupid” either!!! I think you were looking out for your relationship with your sister, and you said it out of compassion for her business and your relationship. I think you realize now that she shouldn’t hold a chargeback against you and that she should rightfully absorb the cost as a part of “being in business.” Yet you are still willing to follow through on a promise you made which is a kind, and integrity-filled thing to do.

So there!

 
 
The Pink Truth will set you free!
  Quick Reply Reply Quote

33 Comments »

  1. Well, I have nothing to add except to point out the huge discrepency between Tracy’s comment vs Raisinberry’s.

  2. Pixie said

    Um…what the fuck does Tracy know about character, kindness and integrity???? What a c***.

  3. Me said

    I find it interesting that everyone thinks the sister is the bad guy when she is just accepting what her sister OFFERED to do. I never thought I would say that I agree with Tracy, but in this case I do. The girl offered to pay it so she should. It also is not clear if the sister asked for all the Section 2 stuff or if the girl just sent it to her. It looks like she just did it on her own. So how can she gripe about the sister accepting it?

    She’s nuts.

  4. Both of you took the words right out of my mouth.

    Wonder if Raisinberry got the smack-down for her comments?

    I always disliked Rachel on PT. Being opinionated is okay, as long as you don’t act like your ideas are gospel and everyone else lacks the mental capacity to see your side. Every time I read one of her responses, I felt like I’d been hit upside the head by a two-by-four. “Not here or here so much, but right heeeeere.”

    And I don’t care what was promised or implied, but when one sister wanted $500 worth of section 2 items (WTH? That is a TON of stuff!) to cover a $200 chargeback, plus the $200 in cash reimbursement, the samples should have more than made up for it.

  5. “As much as I don’t want to pay this, I agree that I did offer it in the beginning. Although she wanted all of my section II and supplies, she didn’t offer to pay for it. I guess I gave her $500 in free supplies, $50 in shipping, and I’m about to pay her $200 in chargebacks.”

    There’s your quote, Me.

  6. MK4ME (B.S.) said

    Wow, did Traci really write that response? It was one of the best things I think I have ever read on PT.

    But as for the problem, the recruiter should never have expected her sister to cover her chargeback, I am sure she wouldn’t have asked another team member who had returned product to pay her back the chargeback so why would you ask your sister.

    And, I don’t know if anyone might suggest this over there but if sister gave all that Section 2 perhaps if she talked to her sister, she would accept the Section 2 as maybe half the return and take just cash for the other half.

  7. Duh said

    I agree with Tracy too. Weird, huh? Why did she feel the need to just give her sis all the Section 2 stuff? Don’t be a push over All Smiley! You could have certainly sold that stuff on ebay and got some of the money back at least. You need to learn to say “NO” girlfriend.

    I’ll bet money that there are quite a few people in Raisinberry’s family that don’t talk to her. Sounds like she’s an expert at settling family disputes!

  8. It’s really strange to be trapped in the same discussions over and over and over. All I can say is I’m glad I don’t have to be up to my knees in that shit anymore.

  9. Curious, along with Missy the Cat said

    Wow. After having read that, I’m definitely grateful for two things:

    1. I’m grateful that I was never able to recruit any family members into MK.
    2. I’m grateful that I have the wonderful sister that I do.

    And I think I’m going to call her this morning and tell her that…just because!

    Sounds like Allsmiley, at least, is interested in preserving her relationship with her sister. The sister, not so much IMO.

    What I would say to the sister/recruiter/director wannabe, were I given the opportunity: Honey, losses are part of the cost of doing business. You want to be a director so get used to it, pull YOUR big-girl panties up and suck it up! Don’t screw your sister over just because she’s your first; believe me, no one else is likely to make you such an offer. You got $500 in usable stuff (if you’re in MK, that is) from her, call it even and still have a sister at the end of the day. Girl, wipe those dollar signs out of your eyes and remember that MK is a company that ultimately you don’t owe squat to, but sisters are forever.

    Sheesh! Some people’s priorities…

    I feel sorry for Allsmiley, that’s a bad position to be in.

  10. Dana said

    It’s rough, but she needs to be true to her word. She shouldn’t have offered to pay her sister for something she wasn’t obligated to pay for if she couldn’t afford it. But now, she owes it to her sister. And to herself, since damaging your integrity is just not worth it.

  11. Shay said

    Perhaps she offered to pay the chargebacks in the hope that her sis would say, “Oh, NO! I could NEVER let you do that!”

    Well, whatever the reason, she offered to pay the chargeback. She needs to keep her word.

    As far as the Section 2 stuff, if her sis did not agree to take it in exchange for some of the chargeback debt, then she should have kept it and told her she could sell it on ebay to help pay OFF the chargeback debt.

    I think she needs assertiveness lessons. LOL

  12. Curious, along with Missy the Cat said

    Sounds like there might be things that were already sorely amiss in this sibling relationship. And adding MK into the mix certainly didn’t help matters any.

    A sad lesson for Allsmiley, but perhaps a lesson to all MLMers who stumble across here and are contemplating recruiting family. In a word, don’t.

  13. Curious, along with Missy the Cat said

    The other really sad thing about all of this is that it appears that Allsmiley may have joined MK in the first place to help this ingrate of a sister out. She says herself that she wasn’t a “skincare or cosmetics” type of person before MK, so she didn’t have a real internal motivation to join a skincare/cosmetics company that I can see.

    Yes, she did set herself up to be used in a number of ways (joining MK in the first place, offering to pay the chargeback) and since one could presume that she knows her sister pretty well after all these years, perhaps she should have seen this coming. Though I have to agree that since she gave her word she should stick to it. My recommendation to Allsmiley would be to get really assertive with the ingrate, present her with a bill for the $500 worth of stuff and if sis refused to pay or negotiate, tell her to send it all back. ALL of it. And then get busy on eBay…the MK too!

    As for the sister? Words fail me…I just can’t express the depths of my contempt for someone who would do their sister this way.

  14. Don’t offer what you can’t deliver.

  15. MK4ME (B.S) said

    The sister that quit should ask the sister for the Boulevard, Ascends, etc… back – she could probably sell them on ebay and get a good chunk of what she owes the sister. It would be nice if they could talk about the whole thing again and the one sis realizing the value of the section 2 and being fair to the sister who was never required to pay the chargeback.

    It seems like compromise would be the best for both.

    and how does one end up with $500 in Section 2, wow, I order tons of pcp gifts and demos because I do a ton of shows and haven’t even come close to that figure?

    But I still have to admit, it is the first time I have totally agreed with TC, if you have given your word, whether you like it or not, you should honor it.

  16. MK4ME- that was my question, too… how big was that initial star order to accumulate $500 worth of demos?

    It makes my head hurt.

  17. Do ya s’pose she bought those stupid overly expensive (so sorry MKers) David Cooper tapes *gag* and is lumping those in? Or worse yet, Bill *snore* Cantrell’s tapes.

    Those were the dayyyzzzzzzzzzz

  18. Oooh, oooh, I know! It was the Rena Tarbet collection! *snort*

    The price of an autograph could have set her back an extra $25.

  19. MK4ME (B.S) said

    Hey free, no offense, I don’t much care for David Cooper or Bill Cantrell either!
    yawn…..
    Now, I do enjoy Pat Pearson! 🙂 – maybe I misunderstood her post, I thought it was $500 Section 2, damn, that would be alot of stuff!!

  20. The Rena Tarbet collection will set ya back $500 all by itseslf. LOL on the autograph.

    Can you imagine how many look cards, samples, sponge tips, face trays, disposable wash cloths, bags, totes, etc. of section 2 crap you would have? $50 to send it to her sister sounds cheap for $500 in section 2.

  21. Starr said

    I think that All Smiley is the person in the consultant story here:

    http://www.pinktruth.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=773&Itemid=21

    That would be Margaret’s story. After reading that story, it puts a little bit more of a background to just how much integrity sister recruiter might have, or in this case– doesn’t.

    Sister recruiter is a manipulator/user with a Master’s Degree and All Smiley is a non-assertive, kind, people-pleaser. Master-manipulator sister is taking advantage of her sister’s weaknesses. I don’t know about any of you, but $500 is a huge amount of money to me. That recruiter sister is getting a huge amount of free items if All Smiley doesn’t come to her senses and ask for the items back and then re-negotiate with her sister.

    All Smiley is a teacher and in Margaret’s story she was doing it part-time which did not make her a wealthy person when she allowed her sister to talk her into MK. Her sister wouldn’t take no for an answer either.

    I totally agree with Raisenberry’s assessment on the situation. That sister/recruiter sounds like a player. When it comes right down to it, Margaret needs to take care of herself and her family first. Unfortunately, she may end up with an angry sister to which I say, “tough.” Chargebacks are the name of the game in MK and that sister needs to step back and suck it up for her sister’s sake.

    Unfortunately there are far too many dysfunctional families out there who prey and benefit off their weaker family members. Far too many do it because they know they can. Integrity and character don’t enter into this mix. For them, it’s the law of the jungle and survival of the fittest.

  22. I can’t imagine having $500 worth of Section 2 on hand! Most of the Section 2 I get is PCP gifts or hostess gifts. Those aren’t sitting on my shelves because people are buying qualifying amounts to get those gifts. I’m pretty sure if I collected all my Section 2 stuff that I have left from the past 5 years it wouldn’t equal $500. That is quite a lot of stuff! Plus, a big bonus for me–I have a few friends who quit MK and they wound up giving me a lot of their Section 2. I bought some of it from them, but then they would just give me what they didn’t want. I have sooo many face cases, but I don’t mind. I do sorority events so lots of face cases is a good thing. 😉

    I don’t know who David Cooper and Bill Cantrell are. Can’t take offense to that! 🙂

  23. Angie said

    Whoo hoo, I’m one of those that once upon a time bought every tape available! 🙂 of course, we are talking about 48 years ago!LOL!
    Still $500 is a lot of section 2 even though Rena’s tapes are high.
    Bill God love him is szzzzzz……. at least DC giggles..LOL! I must say I learned to say at home ‘Is there any reason why you cannot take out the trash”?

    I’m with Tracey on this one too..shock shock..I feel it is important to keep your word, might be a good lesson though in thinking before we offer. Course I always talk then think later..:)think it is called ‘foot in mouth disease’!

  24. MKShay said

    I find the “be kind” comment at the end of the topic heading interesting….

    Perhaps Allsmiley is seeing seeing how the PT sharks rip into each other????

    Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…………

    Just sayin’.

  25. Ang, how do you think I know they were snoozer and looooozer tapes? bwahahhahah I’m part of the bought them 48 years ago club too.

    OMG did anyone else “experience” the life size David Cooper cardboard cut out at Seminar (at the vendors)?? That was freaky. I swear I’m scarred for life.

  26. mkhonesty said

    Wow, here’s a first: I’m agreeing with Raisinberry! A commssion chargeback is a direct result of insufficient training and/or encouraging a team member to place whsl orders without the sales to support the inventory turnover. Simply telling someone “you can do it” and encouraging attendance at multiple retreats/conferences/etc does not suffice for training.

    (A $200 chargeback @ 13% commission was $1,538 whsl returned, @ 9% commission $2,222 whsl returned, and @ 4% commission $5,000 whsl returned.)

    However, Raisinberry shows either her ignorance or her lack of memory: a consultant whose recruiter either terminates or returns product is reclassified to having “no recruiter”. The Director will continue to receive 13% unit commission on the consultant’s whsl orders, but no one will receive the 4, 9 or 13% recruiter commission.

  27. highhopes1 said

    I think she was feeling guilty about her sister getting the chargebacks in the first place so she offered to pay, so she should make good. I think she should ask for her section 2 stuff back and sell it on ebay.

    On the other hand, the recruiter knows what she is getting into and wouldn’t expect being paid back from non family recruits or if she does she’s smoking too much pink crack. Thank god I never recruited any family members, it scared the crap out of me because I just thought it would be too much of a strain on our relationship and sometimes its hard enough getting along in a family with out the pink vortex of doom making it go down with the super suds even more.

  28. Shay said

    HH1 –

    I love the avatar! 🙂

  29. Willie Lump Lump said

    Oh shit!

    First the UFO sightings in Stephensville, TX. Now Duh agrees with Tracy on something.

    Yes, I do believe the end of the world is near……..

    …….Or Duh was abducted during said sighting and reprogrammed in an effort to change ‘Pink Truth Can Bite My Ass’ to ‘Yaaa, I Lurves Me Some Pink Truth’. Which now that i think about it, brings me back to my first theory.

    The end is nearrrrrrrrrrrrr. 😛

  30. highhopes1 said

    Could she be a pod person in disguise????

    Thanks Shay, my technoguide dog found it for me. It’s the same one on our blog. http://2coolchicks.wordpress.com, come for a visit.

  31. highhopes1 said

    Hey Shay isn’t that 7 of 9 from the Borg on yours?

  32. mkhonesty said

    Shay, nice tits on your avatar.

  33. Shay said

    Thanks, MKHonesty! LOL

    Yes, HH1, it’s 7 of 9. I love ST:Voyager! (Okay, I love all of the ST series. LOL)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

